Department of Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics


Full Time Faculty
Tej BhatiaTej Bhatia
Professor, Linguistics and Hindi (South Asian Languages); Linguistics Undergraduate Advisor
312 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5374
tkbhatia@syr.edu


Amanda BrownAmanda Brown
Associate Professor, Linguistics
323C HB Crouse Hall
315-443-2244
abrown08@syr.edu


Gail A. Bulman
Associate Professor, Spanish
308 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-xxxx
gabulman@syr.edu


Jeffrey S. Carnes
Associate Professor, Classics; Classics Program Coordinator
331 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-2068
jscarnes@syr.edu


Joseph Denn
Lecturer, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)
101 Tolley Humanities Building
315-443-5495
jwdenn@syr.edu


Mona Eikel-Pohen
Lecturer, German
332 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5903
meikelpo@syr.edu


Kathy Everly (2016)Kathryn A. Everly
Professor, Spanish Literature and Culture
329 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-2042
keverly@syr.edu


Stephanie Fetta
Assistant Professor, Spanish
307 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5487
safetta@syr.edu


Ken Frieden
Professor, Languages, Literatures and Linguistics and B.G. Rudolph Chair of Judaic Studies, Religion
310 Tolley Humanities Building
315-443-1894
kfrieden@syr.edu


Myrna García Calderón
Associate Professor, Spanish; Undergraduate Adviser; Director of Latino-Latin American Studies Program Interdisciplinary
310 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-9489
mygarcia@syr.edu


Alejandro García-Reidy
Assistant Professor, Spanish
309 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5378
agarci07@syr.edu


Stefano Giannini
Chair, Department of Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics; Associate Professor, Italian; Italian Program Coordinator
340D HB Crouse Hall
315-443-2136
giannini@syr.edu


Hope Glidden
Professor, French; French Graduate Advisor
303 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5473
hhglidde@syr.edu


Christopher Green
Assistant Professor, Linguistics
330 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5498
cgreen10@syr.edu


greenbergGerald R. Greenberg
Associate Professor, Russian and Linguistics; Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs; Humanities; Curriculum, Instruction, and Programs
441 Hall of Languages
315-443-2875
ggreenbe@syr.edu


Lin Guo
Lecturer, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)
334 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5384
lguo06@syr.edu


Lakhan Gusain
Lecturer,Hindi
313 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5905
lgusain@syr.edu


haber-erika3.jpgErika Haber
Associate Professor, Russian Language, Literature, and Culture; Russian Program Coordinator and Undergraduate Advisor
324 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-4200
ehaber@syr.edu


Rania Habib
Associate Professor, Arabic and Linguistics; Arabic Program Coordinator
325 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5490
rhabib@syr.edu


Matthew Hammill
Senior Lecturer, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL); ESOL Program Co-Coordinator
340H HB Crouse Hall
315-443-9484
mjhammil@syr.edu


Dennis C. Harrod
Spanish Language Coordinator
316A HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5491
dcharrod@syr.edu


Brian Hurley
Assistant Professor of Japanese Literature, Film and Culture
340C HB Crouse Hall
315-443-3022
brhurley@syr.edu


Jean Jonassaint
Professor, French and Francophone Studies; French Program Coordinator
333 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5382
jjonassa@syr.edu


Youmie-kimYoumie J.Kim
Senior Lecturer, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL); ESOL Program Co-Coordinator
340H HB Crouse Hall
315-443-9484
ykim27@syr.edu


Jaklin Kornfilt
Professor, Linguistics; Director, Linguistic Studies Program; Director, Computational Linguistics Program; Turkish Language Coordinator
305 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5375
kornfilt@syr.edu


Robert Lally
Lecturer, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)
101 Tolley Humanities Building
315-443-5495
rlally@syr.edu


Meera Lee
Assistant Professor, Korean; Korean Program Coordinator
313 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-xxxx
mlee46@syr.edu


Laura Lisnyczyj
Lecturer in ESOL and Fulbright FLTA Orientation Director Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
101 Tolley Humanities Building
315-443-5495
ladistef@syr.edu


Catherine M. Nock
Senior Lecturer, Spanish
334 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5384
cnock@syr.edu


Kenji OdaKenji Oda
Assistant Professor, Linguistics
340A HB Crouse Hall
315-443-4946
koda100@syr.edu


Alicia B. Ríos
Associate Professor, Spanish; Spanish Program Coordinator
323B HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5379
abrios@syr.edu


Denis Samburskiy
Lecturer,English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)
101 Tolley Humanities Building
315-443-5495
dsamburs@syr.edu


Stefano Selenu
Senior Lecturer, Italian
334 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5384
sselenu@syr.edu


Shabouk_Manar.jpgManar Shabouk
Lecturer,Arabic
325 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5490
mshabouk@syr.edu


Zofia J. Sztechmiler
Instructor, Russian and Polish; Polish Program Coordinator
302 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5385
zoszte@gmail.com


M. Emma Ticio Quesada
Associate Professor, Spanish and Linguistics
328 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5488
mticioqu@syr.edu


Edwin Van Bibber-OrrEdwin Van Bibber-Orr
Assistant Professor, Chinese; Chinese Program Coordinator
340A HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5487
evanbibb@syr.edu


Matthieu H. van der Meer
Assistant Professor, Classics
332 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5903
mhvander@syr.edu


Karina von Tippelskirch
Assistant Professor, German; German Program Coordinator
315 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5383
kvontipp@syr.edu


Elizabeth VossElizabeth Voss
Senior Lecturer, French; French Language Coordinator
316B HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5900
eevoss@syr.edu


walterTomoko Walter
Instructor, Japanese Language Coordinator
Room 205 113 Euclid Ave
315-443-3416
tmwalter@syr.edu


Amy S. Wyngaard
Professor, French and Francophone Studies
314 HB Crouse Hall
315-443-5496
aswyngaa@syr.edu


Xiaowen (Catherine) Xu
Visiting Assistant Professor of Chinese Language, Literature, Film and Culture Languages, Literatures and Linguistics
340A HB Crouse Hall
315-443-4946
xxu138@syr.edu


Seungmin Yun
Lecturer, English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL),Lecturer of Korean Program
101 Tolley Humanities Building
315-443-5495
syun101@syr.edu


zhou-lanjing.jpgLanjing Zhou
Instructor, Chinese Language Coordinator
Room 203 113 Euclid Ave
315-443-5901
lazhou@syr.edu


Contact Us

sb_HB-Crouse-2.jpg

Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
340 HB Crouse Hall
Phone: 315-443-5906
Fax: 315-443-5376
Email: cepalmer@syr.edu
--------------------------------
Google Map to Languages Department at SU
SU Campus Map
Petitions

LLL-SB-Logo